Europe is in my heritage, and it has been a part of my story ever since I had my first Swedish penpal in elementary school. Over the past few months, many of my worlds have collided, as I reunited and renewed friendships with those who accompanied me on other segments on my journey. Here are a few examples:

Picture
My French friend Julie came to visit me for a few days in August. It was the first time since transitioning to Germany that I saw someone in-person that I had met during my time in Toulouse.

Her visit encouraged me greatly, and it was amazing to exchange stories of how God has been working in our lives.  It was also fun to be French in Berlin.  La vie est belle ! 

Picture
I saw my German friend Corinna while she was doing a continuing education program in Berlin. We actually met at language school in France, and now we can converse in three languages (English, German and French). 

I learned more about the humanitarian work that she does and also got to edit the text for the Legends of Nature website  she was working on. Now I need to travel to the other side of Germany to visit her!

Picture
I first met Johanna more than a decade ago when she was a German exchange student at Minot High School. Through the wonders of technology, we have still had contact with each other over the years. I took my first cross-country German bus trip to go visit her and meet her husband and two-year-old daughter. 

We reversed roles from our high school days. Now she was the one correcting my grammar and pronunciation and letting me be a part of her family. 

Picture
I met my German friend Melanie on my spiritual retreat last fall in France. I learned this fall that she had never been to her country's capital and, being that I was living here, it seemed like the perfect time to come to Berlin. 

We had a wonderful time reconnecting and also having many culinary adventures across the city. Somehow we always seem to be going through similar situations, making it easy to relate to and pray for each other.




Leave a Reply.