PictureEvette and I with our dyed eggs. I love that the German dying kit even included plastic gloves!
Frohe Ostern! Did you know that the English word "Easter" and the German word Ostern both come from the same Old English word? 

I also found similarities between some of the Easter traditions I grew up with and the ones that Germans uphold. I even found Germans who do egg wars!

This Easter marked four Easters in four languages. In each country, I have tried to find or make Easter eggs. 

In Colombia, the closest thing we found to Easter eggs were Kinder eggs. In France, no egg dye and brown eggs meant for a challenging Easter (you can read last year's Easter post if you want a good laugh).
This year in Germany, I found egg dye and white eggs.  

I also had a host of Lenten and Easter experiences. I remembered Maundy Thursday with my roommate's small group, saw a Jewish Seder meal presentation and sang a Taizé Good Friday service at the Berliner Dom. 

On Easter Sunday, went to a traditional Easter service in German, took in a German Easter brunch in my neighborhood and attended a dinner celebration with some of my teammates.  Keep reading to picture some of my experiences.

Picture
This reminded me a little more of a chemistry experiment than traditional egg-dying. But it worked on both white and brown eggs. Check out these marbled beauties!
Picture
This Jewish man from Jews for Jesus presented the components of a traditional Seder meal.
Picture
Good Friday in the Berliner Dom. This is a Protestant cathedral.
Picture
This is the traditional Lutheran church in my neighborhood in the morning. There weren't many people out, and the sanctuary was far from filled. But it was still wonderful to hear the redemptive Easter message again.
Picture
It was beautiful to sing Taizé in German and Latin in this space. Haunting.
Picture
An elderly man sat by me. We shared a hymnal and sang together. I was touched when he wished me a Happy Easter and said that he was content to have spent the morning with me. It was a beautiful moment of Christian unity.
Picture
Egg wars with my colleagues! Judy, one of our Easter hosts, also did this with her family. At Easter brunch earlier, some Germans were battling it off as well. I'm glad to know that my family is not the only one to have this crazy Easter tradition!
Picture
Look! It's hard-boiled! I'm glad the insides came out solid in this year's egg-dying adventures. I would say that this year's experiments were about 110 percent more successful.



Leave a Reply.