Picture
But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry, which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God. – Acts 20:24

It doesn't seem like it was more than two years ago that I was writing to you about my marathon to France. At that time, I had never run a marathon. I had never been to France. I wasn't sure how I would ever make it across the ocean. 

Yet God was faithful. The marathon and journey to Toulouse, France was more challenging and took longer than I expected, but I made it. When God redirected my steps, I ended up in Berlin, Germany at the start of 2014. 

It seemed fitting, as I prepared to wrap up my time with ReachGlobal, to run another marathon – a race that reflected what I have experienced and how I have changed over these past two years. 

On Dec. 21, I ran a marathon in Portsmouth, England, along the harbor of the English Channel. During the course of the race, I had ample time to reflect on some of the lessons I've learned on this journey. 

We're in This Together

Picture
Leading up to this second marathon, many people asked me who I was running with. I would explain that, although I didn't have a running partner, that I would still be running together with everyone else in the race. 

Sure there is a clock, and someone finishes first and last, but what matters the most is that we are all running the same course. 

I taped "We're in this together" to the back of my shirt because I wanted the runners I passed to know that they weren't alone, that we all help each other finish the race. 

It was my goal to smile and try to encourage everyone I saw on the course. Some times were harder to smile than others, but in the process, I actually received a great deal of joy, as I got a few smiles in return, some "thank you"s and saw others continue to plod along despite their pain. 

I struggled feeling like I was alone in trying to get myself to Europe and then to carry on once I got here. The support from others who were struggling and persevering on the same course helped me to keep going.  As I have been strengthened by the grace of God, I have been able to encourage and strengthen others on the course.

Expect the Unexpected

Picture
I thought I had signed up for a simple out-and-back course along the harbor – flat, pretty views, nice-on-the-knees dirt trails, sandy beaches. 

The real course involved rock climbing and obstacles like those shown on the photo on the right. There were high winds, rain and muddy paths where I almost twisted my ankle and fell. There were standstills where we had to stop and wait, as we went single file over slippery boulders. The course turned around before the halfway point and took a different route back. 

This wasn't so different than my journey these past two years. It wasn't quite what I thought I had signed up for. It required patience for the many obstacles. There were close calls when I thought I might fall. I had to pray that God wouldn't let my feet slip. And I started the second half on a different path – in Berlin instead of in Toulouse. 

Still I can say that the obstacles have increased my dependence on God and my trust in his faithfulness. While not pleasant at the time, they have made the course memorable and have brought the confidence that God can bring me through anything, no matter how difficult.  

A Great Cloud of Witnesses

This marathon, I wrote names on my sleeves of some of the people in my great cloud of witnesses. I am incredibly thankful for everyone who has been cheering me on from near and far. I have needed your faith to let go of my burdens, avoid sin pitfalls and to run with perseverance the race marked out for me. 
Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. – Hebrews 12:1

People that believe in you are priceless. So many of you have been those people in my life. The people who prayed with me. The people who offered me a listening ear, who visited, who sent cards,  who offered support in so many ways. 

Thank you

Picture
Thank you for the part you have played on my journey. I can say that this second marathon was better than the first, not because it was faster or easier, but because it was completed with joy. 

It would be pretty impossible for any of you to give me wings to fly, but God has used you to help me fly to the finish line. 

It is with joy that I am completing this course and starting the next one. Do I know what this upcoming marathon will hold? Not completely, but here are a couple of my next steps:

1. I am returning to Berlin in January and planning to pursue freelance writing, translating and music opportunities. This will involve a change of visa.
2. I am playing another concert and touring Italy with my orchestra before Easter. Even if I don't get my new visa, I will still be in Europe through April.  
3. I have applied for a low-residency master's program in expressive therapies (using multiple art forms in counseling/therapy). If accepted, I can pursue the three-year program online and in my community from anywhere in the world. I have been taking my psychology prerequisites and continue to be intrigued by everything I am learning. 

Thank you for helping me complete this marathon with joy, and I look forward to journeying with you, as I embark on the next course and continue to proclaim the gospel of the grace of God. 

Darlene H. Rogers
1/2/2015 05:25:26 am

Loved reading all your thoughts!

wish you God's best for the future and hope to see you around Fargo.

Hugs, Darlene

Reply



Leave a Reply.